‘American Hustle,’ ‘Her,’ ‘August: Osage County’ earn Writers Guild nominations

The Writers Guild of America announced its film nominees today, with many of this year’s top films nominated for their screenplays. However, some films didn’t make the cut because of eligibility rules.

Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell’s script for American Hustle leads the Original Screenplay category. Its competition includes Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine; Dallas Buyers Club by Craig Borten & Melissa Wallack; Her by Spike Jonze; and Nebraska by Bob Nelson.

The adapted screenplay category includes some surprises, since 12 Years A Slave was not eligible. Tracy Letts’ August: Osage County was nominated in the category, along with Before Midnight by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke; Captain Phillips by Billy Ray; Lone Survivor by Peter Berg; and The Wolf of Wall Street by Terence Winter.

The WGA awards really can’t be considered a fair predictor for the Oscar screenplay categories, since some of the previous winners have been ineligible. According to TheWrap, 12 Years, Philomena and Fruitvale Station didn’t receive nominations because its writers are not members or the films weren’t written in agreement with an affiliated international guild.

Previous Oscar winners like Django Unchained and The King’s Speech were not eligible for the WGA awards.

The awards, which also honor television, will be held on Feb. 1 at ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

image: Sony

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed