Sidney Crosby, Claude Giroux, Ryan Getzlaf named NHL MVP finalists

The NHL announced on Thursday the three finalists for the Most Valuable Player Award, known as the Hart Memorial Trophy. Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins, Ryan Getzlaf of the Anaheim Ducks, and Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers are the three finalists.

According to Sports Network, the Professional Hockey Writers Association submitted ballots for the award at the end of the regular season. The three players who got the most votes were designated as finalists.

The favorite for the award is Crosby, who is a finalist for the fourth time in his career. He scored 36 goals and led the league in assists (68), and points (104). The Penguins went on to win their second consecutive division title. Crosby won the Hart trophy in 2007 and was runner-up in 2010 and last year.

Getzlaf had 31 goals, which is a career-high, and 87 points, which puts him second in the league in scoring, according to the Associated Press. He is a Hart finalist for the first time and could join Corey Perry as the only Duck players to win the Hart trophy. This season the Ducks had the best record in the Western Conference.

Giroux is a Hart finalist for the first time also. He had 28 goals, which matched a career-high, and was third in the league in scoring with 86 points. Giroux helped the Flyers make the playoffs after they started the season 3-9. No Flyer player has won the Hart trophy since Eric Lindros won it in 1995.

The winner will be announced at the NHL awards ceremony on June 24. Alex Ovechkin won the Hart trophy last year.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed