NBC announces staggered fall premiere schedule, will use Olympics to promote new shows

By Daniel S Levine,

Although NBC announced its fall schedule in March, the network waited until Thursday to reveal when its several new shows would premiere. The network plans to give many of them an early start, using the 2012 London Olympics as a launch pad.

It will take NBC two months to debut all of its new series, notes Deadline, going from mid-August to mid-October. Two sitcoms will get really early starts and premiere during the Olympics. Go On with Matthew Perry will start Aug. 8. Animal Kingdom will premiere on Aug. 12, right after the closing ceremony. The next day, the new reality series Stars Earn Stripes will premiere, leading into Grimm’s season two premiere.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, The Voice will start its first fall season on Sept. 10, with repeats of the first episodes of Animal Kingdom and Go On following it. 30 Rock will not start until Oct. 4 and Community will be held back until Oct. 19.

The only series NBC will debut during the typical network launch week is Law & Order: SVU, which will start on Sept. 26.

The New Normal, created by Ryan Murphy, has been set for a Sept. 11 premiere, while the comedy Guys With Kids will start Sept. 12. Chicago Fire will premiere on Oct. 10.

Here’s the full schedule: (*new shows)

Wednesday, Aug. 8: Go On* (after Olympics coverage)
Sunday, Aug. 12: Animal Kingdom* (after Olympics closing ceremony coverage)
Monday, Aug. 13: Stars Earn Stripes*; Grimm
Wednesday, Sept. 5: NFL Football regular season kick-off
Sunday, Sept. 9: NFL Football regular time
Monday, Sept. 10: The Voice
Tuesday, Sept. 11: Go On (regular time); The New Normal*; Parenthood
Wednesday, Sept. 12: Guys With Kids* (after America’s Got Talent finale)
Friday, Sept. 14: Grimm (regular time)
Monday, Sept. 17: Revolution*
Thursday, Sept. 20: Up All Night, The Office, Parks and Recreation
Wednesday, Sept. 26: Animal Practice (regular time), Guys With Kids (regular time), Law & Order: SVU
Thursday, Oct. 4: 30 Rock
Wednesday, Oct. 10: Chicago Fire
Friday, Oct. 19: Whitney, Community

image: NBC

Fun Stuff

 
 

Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads