‘Jeopardy!’ and ‘Wheel of Fortune’ renewed until 2016

By Daniel S Levine,

Television viewers will hear much more of the Jeopardy! theme and see more of Vanna White thanks to CBS Television Distribution announcing Monday that both Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune have been renewed through 2016.

Broadcasting & Cable reports that the two hit game shows were renewed after ABC Owned Television Stations Group committed to airing them through 2016. That deal means that Wheel will be guaranteed 33 years on the air, while Jeopardy! will celebrate 32 years.

Wheel is hosted by Pat Sajack and White and Jeopardy! is hosted by Alex Trebek. All three will continue to host the shows through the 2015-16 season. Sony Pictures Television, which produces the shows, renewed their contracts last month.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, ABC owns stations in New York, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco and elsewhere. The stations cover 21 percent of all US households.

"The ABC O&Os have been a fantastic broadcast partner for Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy! for the last few decades, and we look forward to many more years of this prosperous relationship," CTV’s president of sales, Joe DiSalvo, stated. “Wheel and Jeopardy! continue to hit primetime-size ratings every night and truly prove the power that syndicated programming brings to a station's lineup.”

Wheel continues to draw 30 million viewers a week and is still the No. 1 rated game show. Jeopardy! averages 25 million a week.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads