NFL Midseason Awards

By Kevin Chan,

It’s been a fast nine weeks, and the NFL season has reached its half way mark. It’s time to recognize the NFL’s most deserving players of the NFL’s most prestigious awards.

Most Valuable Player

Matt Ryan

Matt Ryan has his Atlanta Falcons soaring to its best start in franchise history and best record in the NFL. At 8-0, the only undefeated team in the league, it hasn't been an easy road getting there. He has helped orchestrate four game-winning drives, including two fourth-quarter comebacks. He is completing over 69 percent of his passes, with nearly 300 yards per game and is third in the league with a 103.0 passer rating.

Honorable Mention: Peyton Manning (DEN), Aaron Rodgers (GB)

Offensive Player of the Year

Aaron Rodgers

After a slow start to this season, last season’s MVP has quietly put together a spectacular season. The Green Bay Packers quarterback leads the NFL with 25 passing touchdowns compared to just five interceptions, and is second in the league with a 107.4 passer rating. He is on pace to tie his 45 passing touchdowns from a season ago, despite playing with an injury-depleted receiving core that is missing Greg Jennings.

Honorable Mention: Peyton Manning (DEN), Adrian Peterson (MIN), Drew Brees (NO)

Defensive Player of the Year

J.J. Watt

The 7-1 Houston Texans defense is third in yards allowed and tied for third in points allowed, and second-year defensive end J.J. Watt is by far their best player. He leads the league with 10.5 sacks, which is a ridiculous amount for a guy who’s not even an edge rusher. What’s more ridiculous is that he is tied for eighth in the league with 10 pass deflections, four of which resulted in interceptions.

Honorable Mentions: Clay Matthews (GB), Charles Tillman (CHI), Daryl Washington (ARI)

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Robert Griffin III

Last season, Carolina Panthers rookie quarterback Cam Newton took the league by storm and stuffed the stats sheet with huge rushing and passing numbers on his way to winning the Rookie of the Year award. The Washington Redskins rookie quarterback may be having an even better season. Through the first eight games of their rookie years, Griffin has a higher completion percentage, touchdown-to-interception ratio, winning percentage, and more rushing yards than Newton. His 93.9 passer rating and completion percentage over 65 percent is unheard of in this league for a rookie.

Honorable Mentions: Andrew Luck (IND), Doug Martin (TB), Trent Richardson (CLE), Russell Wilson (SEA)

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Chandler Jones

The Patriots defensive end leads all rookies with six sacks. The Patriots defense was desperate for a pass rush, and Jones has been everything and more so far for the team. He has also forced three fumbles and has hurried opposing quarterbacks 20 times this season.

Honorable Mentions: Luke Kuechly (CAR), Bobby Wagner (SEA)

Photo courtesy of TwitPic



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads