Kathryn Bigelow’s ‘Zero Dark Thirty’ earns National Board of Review Best Film award

By Daniel S Levine,

Kathryn Bigelow’s Zero Dark Thirty has earned yet another award and it hasn’t even been seen by the general public. The National Board of Review has named it the best film of 2012, just two days after the New York Film Critics Circle gave it the same award.

Like The NYFCC, the National Board of Review also gave Bigelow the Best Director award. Star Jessica Chastain also won Best Actress, a deviation from the New York critics, who gave that award to The Deep Blue Sea’s Rachel Weisz.

Silver Linings Playbook, which didn’t win any NYFCC awards, earned two NBR wins. Bradley Cooper won Best Actor, while director David O. Russell won for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Best Supporting Actor went to Leonardo DiCaprio for Django Unchained, while Compliance’s Ann Dowd won Supporting Actress.

Director Rian Johnson won Best Original Screenplay for his sci-fi thriller Looper.

Ben Affleck won a Special Achievement in Filmmaking award for Argo, while Beasts of the Southern Wild director Benh Zeitlin won Best Directorial Debut.

Other awards include Best Ensemble for Les Miserables, Best Foreign Film for Amour and the spotlight award went to John Goodman, who was in four films this year.

Surprisingly, Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln didn’t win any awards, although the NBR did list it among its 10 best films of the year. Daniel Day-Lewis is considered a favorite for the Best Actor Oscar and did win the NYFCC award for his performance as Abraham Lincoln.

The NBR will hold a special gala ceremony on Jan. 8 with Meredith Viera hosting at Cipriani in New York.

Zero Dark Thirty will be at a limited number of theaters on Dec. 19.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads