'Argo' wins prestigious Producers Guild Award

By Lena Finkel,
'Argo' beats out 'Lincoln' and others for Motion Picture Award

George Clooney, Ben Affleck and Grant Heslov have won the prestigious Darryl F. Zanuck award for outstanding producer of a motion picture for Argo.

The three beat out stiff competition as other nominated films included Django Unchained, Lincoln, Moonrise Kingdom, Zero Dark Thirty, Silver Linings Playbook, Life of Pi as well as a few others.

The award holds even more clout since the PGA winner has predicted the Best Picture at the Oscars for the last five years, according to NME. Affleck, who also directed and starred in the film, said the award was “incredible and exciting” and thanked his wife actress Jennifer Garner, Clooney, and Heslov.

Affleck also recently won the Golden Globe for best motion picture drama and director for the real-life drama, reported The Houston Chronicle.

Other big winners of the night included Disney’s Wreck-It Ralph, which took the prize for best animated film and Sony Pictures Classics’ Searching for Sugar Man, which won the documentary award, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

The NY Times also said that Modern Family and Homeland won notable television awards.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads