Steven Spielberg, Ben Affleck, Kathryn Bigelow among Directors Guild nominees

By Daniel S Levine,

The Directors Guild of America announced the nominees for the best directors of 2012, picking some familiar faces and just one first-time nominee.

The DGA nominated Ben Affleck for Argo, Zero Dark Thirty’s Kathryn Bigelow, Life of Pi’s Ang Lee, Lincoln’s Steven Spielberg and Tom Hooper for Les Miserables.

All of the nominees are past winners aside from Affleck. This is his first nomination.

Lee won for 2005’s Brokeback Mountain and 2000’s Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and earned his fourth nomination, while this is the second nomination for Hooper and Bigelow. Hooper previously won for 2010’s The King’s Speech, while Bigelow won for 2009’s The Hurt Locker. All three also went on to win the Oscar for their films.

Spielberg received his 11th DGA nomination. He’s won three times for Saving Private Ryan, Schindler’s List and The Color Purple. He also received the guild’s lifetime achievement award in 2000.

Since 1948, the DGA and the Academy have only disagreed about the best director six times. The last time it happened was 2002, when Rob Marshall won for Chicago, but Roman Polanski won the Oscar for The Pianist. Last year, The Artist’s Michel Hazanavicius won both awards.

The DGA’s ceremony, which will be hosted by Kelsey Grammer, will be held on Feb. 2 in Hollywood.

Both the Writers and Producers Guilds already named their nominees last week.

Oscar nominations will be announced on Thursday.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads