Jay-Z releases track list for new album

By Dylan Parent,

Jay-Z has revealed the track list for his upcoming album Magna Carta Holy Grail, which features a song with lyrics by late rocker Kurt Cobain.

The track list was revealed to fans by way of an elaborate scavenger hunt across Brooklyn, New York. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Jay-Z’s publicist Jana Fleishman tweeted photos of her location, enticing fans to come meet her and receive a copy of the track list.

Though collaborations have not been confirmed, artists such as Pharrell Williams and Swiss Beatz are rumored to have participated on Jay-Z’s highly anticipated new album. Magna Carta Holy Grail will be available on July 4 to one million Samsung users, who will be able to download and listen to the tracks ahead of other fans.

The album, which includes song names such as “Picasso,” “Beach is Better,” and “La Familia” also includes lyrics from late Nirvana singer Kurt Cobain. MSN reports that the rocker’s widow Courtney Love gave Jay-Z permission to use lyrics from Nirvana’s hit “Smells Like Teen Spirit” despite her fear that daughter Francis Bean Cobain would “freak.”

Love, who owns the rights to Cobain’s music, said she allowed Jay-Z to use the lyrics because, "Jay-Z's huge and we're friends."

Image: Twitpic



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads