Beyonce pulls off shocking surprise with iTunes album release, features 14 songs and 17 videos

By Daniel S Levine,

Somehow, one of the most popular singers on the planet managed to keep the release of her new album entirely a secret until overnight. Beyonce Knowles-Carter just released BEYONCE, a 31-track mixed-media album that includes 14 all-new songs and 17 videos, only on iTunes and there was no hint of the album’s release.

The album was posted just last night for $15.99 and the tracks are not available individually yet. Most of the songs are collaborations with several top musicians, including her husband Jay Z on “Drunk in Love.” “Mine” features Drake, while “Superpower” has some input from Frank Ocean. “Blue” also features her daughter, Blue Ivy Carter, who has already been featured on one of her father’s songs.

Every song also gets a video, notes Billboard. The additional videos feature “Grown Woman,” which does not appear on the album itself. “Standing on the Sun,” a song that was featured in an H&M ad, is not on the collection at all.

Beyonce also posted a video on her Facebook page, in which she spoke about the importance of bringing visuals to music. “It’s more than just what I hear,” she says. “When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.”

There was also a post on Instagram that announced the “surprise!”

Billboard notes that iTunes will likely have the album exclusively for the next week before its official release on Sunday, Dec. 21. Two tracks will likely be released as singles next week.

image: CBS


Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads