‘Fruitvale Station’ wins at IFP Gotham Awards

By Chelsea Lewis ,

The IFP Gotham Awards took place Monday night. Among the winners were Forest Whitaker, Michael B. Jordan and Ryan Coolger. These awards focus on celebrating the best of independent film. The Gotham awards kicked off the 2013 awards season.

The awards were hosted by Nick Kroll and took place in downtown Manhattan at Cipriani’s for the celebrity packed event.

BET reported that Fruitvale Station won two highly coveted awards. Michael B. Jordan took home Breakthrough Actor and Ryan Coogler won Breakthrough Director.

USA Today added that 12 Years a Slave did not receive any awards. The Oscar frontrunner was nominated three times but did not win.

Inside Llewyn Davis won the top honor of the night, winning best film at the 23rd annual awards. Matthew McConaughey, Coen Brothers and Brie Larson also took home awards.

In additional to the awards James Gandolfini, known for his work on The Sporanos was honored. Steve Buscemi presented a posthumous tribute to the HBO actor.

Forest Whitaker was also honored with a tribute, which was delivered by Lee Daniels who worked with Whitaker on The Butler.

image: The Weinstein Company


Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads