‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ wins top prize at Gotham Independent Film Awards, Matthew McConaughey and Brie Larson win acting awards

By Daniel S Levine,

The Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out in Manhattan last night and, surprisingly, only one film won more than one award, Ryan Coogler’s Fruitvale Station. The first ceremony in this year’s awards season kept things interesting, choosing Inside Llewyn Davis over 12 Years A Slave for Best Feature.

Inside Llewyn Davis is the new film from Joel and Ethan Coen and won the Grand Prix at the Cannes Film Festival in May. The film beat 12 Years A Slave, Upstream Color, Before Midnight and Ain’t Them Bodies Saints for the top prize.

Oscar Isaac plays the title role, a folk singer trying to make it big in 1960s New York. The rest of the cast includes Justin Timberlake, Carey Mulligan and John Goodman. It opens wide on Dec. 20.

Best Documentary went to Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Act of Killing, while Tadashi Nakamura’s Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings surprisingly won the online poll for the Audience Award.

The ceremony also included a tribute to the late James Gandolfini, director Richard Linklater, actor/producer Forest Whitaker and Katherine Oliver, the Commissioner NYC Mayor's Office of Media & Entertainment.

Here’s the list of other winners:

Best Actor - Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
Best Actress - Brie Larson (Short Term 12)
Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director - Ryan Coogler (Fruitvale Station)
Breakthrough Actor - Michael B. Jordan (Fruitvale Station)

image: trailer


Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads