'Pulp Fiction,' 'Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?,' 'Mary Poppins' and many more among National Film Registry’s 2013 list

By Daniel S Levine,

The Library of Congress announced the 2013 list of films entering the National Film Registry. These movies will now be preserved forever in the Library of Congress, so generations of Americans will never be without acclaimed films like Pulp Fiction, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and Mary Poppins.

"The National Film Registry stands among the finest summations of more than a century of extraordinary American cinema,” Librarian of Congress, James H. Billington, said in a statement today. “This key component of American cultural history, however, is endangered, so we must protect the nation’s matchless film heritage and cinematic creativity.”

For this year, the National Film Registry picked films dating back to 1919 and films as recent as 2002. It includes several Oscar-winning epics, from 1983’s The Right Stuff to Walt Disney’s 1964 classic Mary Poppins. Quentin Tarantino’s idonic 1994 hit Pulp Fiction will also be preserved, along with John Ford’s 1952 film The Quiet Man. That movie earned Ford his record fourth Oscar for Best Director. Stanley Kramer’s Judgment at Nuremberg, which starred an Oscar winning turn from Maximilian Schell, and the sci-fi classic Forbidden Planet were also picked. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, which earned Elizabeth Taylor her second Oscar is finally being added.

The oldest films are 1919’s A Virtuous Vamp, which stars Constance Talmadge, 1920’s Ella Cinders, a Cinderella story. The newest film is 2002’s Decasia, a documentary by acclaimed filmmaker Errol Morris.

Other Hollywood classics joining the National Film Registry include the noir classic Gilda, which made Rita Hayworth a star, the Western The Magnificent Seven and Midnight, a screwball classic with Claudette Colbert.

You can check out the full list here.

image: Amazon


Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads