Cinematographers, costume designer guilds announce nominations for 'Nebraska,' '12 Years A Slave' and more

By Daniel S Levine,

The American Society of Cinematographers and the Costume Designers Guild both announced their nominees for the best work in their respective fields in 2013 Wednesday. Alexander Payne’s Nebraska and Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave earned nominations from both guilds.

The ASC’s field includes six nominees, starting with Sean Bobbitt’s nomination for 12 Years A Slave. The other nominees are Barry Ackroyd (Captain Phillips); Philippe Le Sourd (The Grandmaster); Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity); Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis); Phedon Papamichael (Nebraska); and Roger Deakins (Prisoners).

This is Deakins’ 12th nomination and he picked up wins for The Shawshank Redemption and Skyfall. Lubezki is also a previous winner, winning for The Tree of Life and Children of Men.

The 28th annual ASC Awards are set for Feb. 1.

As for the costume designers, their nominees for best designs in a contemporary film went to Suzy Benzinger (Blue Jasmine); Carey Storm (Her); Wendy Chuck (Nebraska); Consolata Boyle (Philomena); and Sarah Edwards (The Secret Life of Walter Mitty).

The nominees for period film are Patricia Norris (12 Years a Slave); Michael Wilkinson (American Hustle); Kurt & Bart (Dallas Buyers Club); Catherine Mann (The Great Gatsby); and Daniel Orlandi (Saving Mr. Banks).

There are only three nominees in the fantasy film category and they are Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor & Bob Buck (The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug); Trish Summerville (The Hunger Games: Catching Fire); and Gary Jones & Michael Kutsche (Oz The Great and Powerful).

The 16th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards are scheduled for Feb. 22.

image: image.net



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads