'Flora & Ulysses' wins Newberry Medal, 'Locomotive' selected for Caldecott Medal

By Kyle Johnson,

The American Library Association announced on Monday that Kate DiCamillo and Brian Floca won the Newberry Medal and Caldecott Medal, respectively.

DiCamillo won the "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children" Newberry Medal for her book Flora & Ulysses, reports TIME.

The writer, who was named National ambassador for Young People's Literature for 2014-15, previously won the Newberry for 2003's The Tale of Despereaux.

Floca won the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded for illustrated picture books, for his book Locomotive. The illustrator and writer also won a Newberry Medal for Crispin: The Cross of Lead.

The other award given out by the American Library Association was the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award to Theodore Taylor III. He was awarded for his illustrations in When the Beat was Born: DJ Kool Herc and the Creation of Hip Hop.

According to The Associated Press, the runner-ups for the Newberry Medal include Holly Black's Doll Bones, Kevin Henkes' The Year of Billy Miller, Vince Vawter's Paperboy and Amy Timberlake's One Came Home.

image: Amazon



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads