Naughty Dog's 'The Last of Us' nets 13 D.I.C.E. nominations

By Kyle Johnson,

The nominations for the 17th annual D.I.C.E. Awards have been announced and Naughty Dog's The Last of Us snagged the most with 13.

The critically-acclaimed post-apocalyptic game is also nominated for the top prize, game of the year, reports Variety. The equivalent of the Academy Awards for video games are presented by the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences.

The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, Grand Theft Auto V, Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag and Bioshock Infinite are also nominated for the top award, but none approach Last of Us in number of total nominations.

According to Polygon, GTA V had the second-most with seven noms, with Infinite right behind with six. Black Flag managed to get five, as did Tearaway.

There are 24 categories for D.I.C.E., with a newly added one this year for Online Game of the Year, which looks for an online game that is "constantly evolving experiences persistent online titles provide." Those nominated include Diablo III, World of Tanks, The Last of Us, Borderlands 2 and Battlefield 4.

Variety notes that the awards ceremony will be held at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on Feb. 6. Eugene Jarvis will be presented with the Pioneer Award for creating Defender and Robotron: 2084.

The full list of nominations can be found here.

image: Amazon



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads