The Hold Steady releases their new album ‘Teeth Dreams’

By Marcina Zaccaria ,

The Hold Steady releases their newest album: Teeth Dreams.

Singer Craig Finn takes the lead on the newest effort from The Hold Steady. Finn’s songs often sound like narration on the album. According to The Guardian, Finn says, "Conventional wisdom says we should probably cruise. I said a couple of things that probably weren't technically true."

The album features stories about living in the fast lane and dancing the night away. The album is classic rock and their sixth album features plenty of Finn’s interesting characters that are mostly female, according to the Associated Press.

Themes on the album include anxiety and American sadness. The Hold Steady does draw upon the sounds of the '70s. Band members include Craig Finn, Tad Kubler, Galen Polivka, Bobby Drake, and Steve Selvidge. The band was formed in 2004, and was based in Brooklyn. The band lists Bruce Springsteen, Sage Francis, and Jay Z as some of their influences.

The Hold Steady’s other albums include Almost Killed Me, Separation Sunday, and Boys and Girls in America. Their last album, released in 2010, was Heaven Is Whenever.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads