'Breaking Bad,' 'House of Cards,' 'Scandal' among this year's Peabody Award recipients

By Ian Walker,

Recipients of the 73rd Annual Peabody Awards were announced this morning, and the list includes some of the most popular shows currently on TV, including a rare repeat winner.

ABC’s Scandal, Netflix’s House of Cards and Orange Is the New Black, FX’s The Bridge, BBC America’s Orphan Black, Comedy Central’s Key & Peele and AMC’s Breaking Bad were amongst this year’s Peabody Award winners .

This is the second Peabody award for Breaking Bad. Veteran NBC news anchor Tom Brokaw will receive a special Peabody honoring his career.

The Peabody awards are the oldest honor in the world of broadcasting and aim to recognize excellence in the field. In terms of determining the winners, the judges select the programs they deem most worthy, as there is no set number of winners in any given year.

Hitfix reports that 46 total programs were selected as recipients, which are up from last year’s group of 39.

The awards will be handed out on May 19 in New York City. This American Life’s Ira Glass, also a recipient this year, will preside over the ceremony.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads