Los Angeles Clippers coach Doc Rivers fined for criticizing officiating after Game 5 loss

By Sarah Yu,

Los Angeles Clippers coach Doc Rivers was fined $25,000 for criticizing the officiating after the team's loss on Wednesday night.

With 11.3 seconds left in the game, Oklahoma City Thunder's Reggie Jackson put the ball out of bounds but the referees ruled in favor of the Thunder, even after reviewing it on the replay machine, FOX Sports reported.

Although Rivers is still arguing that the call was inaccurate and continues to blame their loss on the poor officiating, NBA president of basketball operations disagreed.

"In order to reverse the call made on the on the court, there has to be 'clear and conclusive' evidence," he said in a statement on Wednesday. "Since no replay provided such evidence, the play correctly stood as called with the Thunder retaining posession."

At his post-game news conference on Tuesday, Rivers was adamant about the wrongful call against the Clippers.

"Let's take away the replay system," he said at the news conference, USA Today reports. "Because that's our ball. We win the game. And we got robbed because of that call. And it's clear. Everybody in the arena saw it."

He continued criticizing the replay system, stating the inaccuracy of it and explaining that it was the cause of their Game 5 loss.

"We did a lot of stuff to lose the game ourselves," he admitted. "But at the end of the day, we have a replay system that you're supposed to look at, and I don't want to hear that they didn't have that replay. That's a bunch of crap."



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads