Interpol announces first album in four years, 'El Pintor'

By Kyle Johnson,

Interpol announced on Thursday that they will be releasing their first album in over four years, El Pintor, later this year.

Their fifth studio album will be 10 tracks and hit stores on Sept. 9 through Matador, reports Billboard. Their first album since 2010's self-titled was recorded at Atomic Sound and Electric Lady Studios.

According to TIME, the latest album was done without bass player Carlos D, who previously left the band. Frontman Paul Banks took over bass duties for Interpol's forthcoming album, on top of already providing vocals and guitar. Daniel Kesler also took on guitar as well as the piano for El Pintor, while Samuel Fogarino remained focused on the drums.

The album will include some guest musicians on select tracks, including The Secret Machines' Brandon Curtis and Roger Joseph Manning Jr.

Interpol is currently touring in order to promote the upcoming album and can be seen at Governors Ball, FYF Fest, Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits Festival and several others upcoming festivals.


!. "All the Rage Back Home"
2. "My Desire"
3. "Anywhere"
4. "Same Town, New Story"
5. "My Blue Supreme"
6. "Everything is Wrong"
7. "Breaker 1"
8. "Ancient Ways"
9. "Tidal Wave"
10. "Twice as Hard"

image courtesy of INFevents.com



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads