Lupita Nyong’o, Michael Fassbender, Josh Hutcherson among 271 invited to Film Academy

By Daniel S Levine,

Soon, 12 Years A Slave actors Lupita Nyong’o, Michael Fassbender and Paul Dano will get to vote for the Oscars. The three were among 271 members of the film community invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

“This year’s class of invitees represents some of the most talented, creative and passionate filmmakers working in our industry today,” AMPAS president Cheryl Boone-Isaacs said in a statement. “Their contributions to film have entertained audiences around the world, and we are proud to welcome them to the Academy.”

While their names are on the list, they do still have to accept the invitation. Once they do so, they can vote for the next Oscars, which will honor the best in film in 2014.

The actor’s branch could see a wide variety of new faces. In addition to Nyong’o, Fassbender and Dano, Nebraska actress June Squibb, Blue Jasmine actress Sally Hawkins and Lincoln’s David Strathairn were invited. There might also be some more humor in the Academy if Rob Riggle, Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Chris Rock accept their invitations. Barkhad Abdi, who was nominated for his first film role in Captain Phillips, along with The Hunger Games’ Josh Hutcherson and action star Jason Statham received invitations.

A few well known directors also received invitations, including David Gordon Green (Pineapple Express); Jean-Marc Vallee (Dallas Buyers Club) and Paolo Sorrentino (The Great Beauty). Brothers Jay and Mark Duplass (Jeff Who Lives At Home) were also invited.

Potential new members of the writer’s branch include John Ridley (12 Years A Slave); Steve Coogan (Philomena); Terence Winter (The Wolf of Wall Street); and Eric WArren Singer (American Hustle).

Members who accept the invitations will officially join AMPAS during a reception in September.

image courtesy of INFphoto.com



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads