Blackhawks re-sign Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane to eight-year deals

By Leighton Schneider,

The Chicago Blackhawks have re-signed their star players Jonathan Toews and Patrick Kane to identical eight-year contracts worth $10.5 million per season.

According to the NHL, both players were set to become unrestricted free agents following the 2015-2016 season. They are now signed to the end of the 2022-2023 season.

The pair will become the highest paid NHL players, beating out Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin, according to Capgeek.

In a statement released by the Blackhawks, both players expressed gratitude to the team for their experiences and that they look forward to bring the Stanley Cup back to the city of Chicago.

Toews was the third overall pick in the 2006 NHL Draft by the Blackhawks. In 2010, he became the second youngest player to win the playoff MVP.

Kane was drafted number one overall in 2007. He scored the winning goal in the 2010 Stanley Cup.

The pair has led Chicago to two Stanley Cups and two Western Conference Finals in their seven years playing together.

Both players signed identical five-year, $31.5 million contracts following the 2009-2010 season, according to TSN.

Image Courtesy of Kamil Krzaczynski/INFphoto.com



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads