Foo Fighters release title, track list, and release date for new album

By Benjamin Mazzara ,

Foo Fighters have just announced the title, track list, and even the release date for their upcoming album, called Sonic Highways.

As noted by the Huffington Post, the album shares a title with lead singer Dave Grohl’s upcoming HBO documentary series, but the album is not associated with the series at all. The series will premiere on October 17 at 11 p.m.

The band also shared the track list of the album on their website, but can be found below.

1. "Something From Nothing"

2. "The Feast and the Famine"
3. "Congregation"
4. "What Did I Do?/God as My Witness"
5. "Outside"

6. "In the Clear"
7. "Subterranean"
8. "I Am a River"

In a recent statement, Dave Grohl said "This album is instantly recognizable as a Foo Fighters record, but there's something deeper and more musical to it. I think that these cities and these people influenced us to stretch out and explore new territory, without losing our ‘sound.'"

The band also posted a video of lead singer Grohl getting a tattoo with the words “In the end, we all come from what’s come before” surrounding an infinity symbol. The symbol is featured on the album cover, which can be found on the band's website.

As noted by Blabbermouth.net, the album will be following up the band’s single “Wasting Light,” which was both an international hit and a Grammy winner.

The lyrics for each song are based on local legends and featured an experimental style, with Grohl waiting until the last day of each session to write them. Grohl’s lyrics were based on the emotions of each recording session, personal experiences, the interviews for the HBO series, and the local personalities who were part of the recording process.

The album will be released globally on November 10. However, this website is allowing pre-orders for the CD and an 180-gram vinyl LP, which comes with eight variant covers for the various cities where the album was recorded: Austin, Chicago, Los Angeles, Nashville, New Orleans, New York, Seattle, and Washington, D.C.

image via Carlos Diaz/INFphoto.com



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads