Ludacris and Lil Wayne clean up at this year’s BMI R&B/ Hip-Hop Awards

By Alexandria Nelson,

Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges was presented with the President’s Award at the event, while other big winners during the evening included rapper Lil Wayne, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, and Disney channel star Zendaya.

The awards show, which honors songwriters, producers and publishers of last year’s most performed R&B/ Hip-Hop songs, took place Friday night in Hollywood. Ludacris was honored with the President’s Award which is given to artists who have shown outstanding achievement in songwriting with a global influence on culture and the entertainment industry All Hip Hop reports. The rapper and actor expressed his gratitude for the award in an interview, saying “I’ve exceeded my expectations and I’m just very proud that people are recognizing it, especially BMI, so to be in an elite number of individuals that receive this award is just an honor.”

Previous winners of the award include Taylor Swift and Adam Levine Yahoo! reports.

The other big winner of the night, Lil Wayne collected the award for Songwriter of the Year, for penning hits like “Beware” and “Love Me.”

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis took home the award for Song of the Year for their hit “Can’t Hold Us.”

Zendaya also took home a trophy, she won the BMI Social Star Award for her use of social media in promoting her music.

Photo Credit: INFphoto.com



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads