Golden Globes presenters include Nicole Kidman, Antonio Banderas and Natalie Portman

By Daniel S Levine,
Actress Nicole Kidman arrives at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) inaugural Brits to Watch' dinner at the Belasco Theatre in downtown Los Angeles on July 9, 2011. UPI/Valerie Macon/pool

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association hands out its Golden Globe Awards on Sunday, with comedian Ricky Gervais as the previously-announced host. Earlier this week, the group announced who will be presenting the awards, including Natalie Portman, Antonio Banderas and Nicole Kidman.

HollyScoop reports that Jake Gyllenhaal, Salma Hayek, Freida Pinto, Clive Owen and Melissa McCarthy are also scheduled to present awards. “We are thrilled to have these talented individuals join us...Each will bring something very special to this year’s show!” Dr. Aida Takla-O’Reilly, the president of the HFPA, said in a statement.

As Broadway World notes, many of these presenters have won or have been nominated for Golden Globes in the past. Gyllenhaal and Hayek have each been nominated once, while Kidman and Portman have won and been nominated several times. Owen also won a Golden Globe in 2005.

Salma Hayek and Antonio Banderas at the premiere of 'Puss In Boots' held at the Empire Leicester Square on November 24 2011 in London

FoxNews Latino reports that Banderas appeared in two films that have been nominated for awards this year. DreamWorks’ Puss In Boots, which also features the voice of Hayek, was nominated for best animated film and Pedro Almodóvar’s The Skin I Live In was nominated for best foreign language film.

The 69th Golden Globe Awards will be directed by Louis J. Horvitz, who will be directing the show for the second year in a row. NBC is broadcasting the show live across the country, starting with a pre-show at 7:00 p.m. EST, with the ceremony starting at 8:00 p.m. EST. The Artist leads the nominations with six, ahead of The Help and The Descendants, which were both nominated for five awards. Morgan Freeman will be given the special Cecil B. DeMille award.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads