P!nk releases 'The Truth About Love'

By Marissa Pessolano,
Author Rating: 
How do your rate this item?

Released today, The Truth About Love is P!nk’s sixth full-length album, the last one being Funhouse in 2008.

P!nk is often one of the most underrated pop artists as she doesn’t always follow the ‘cookie cutter formula.’ Like all of her albums, The Truth About Love veers away from traditional pop music. Instead of playing a role or character, P!nk’s lyrics always presents herself as herself, not being afraid to be brutally honest.

P!nk is no stranger when it comes singing about her up and down marriage with motocross racer Carey Hart, so when she releases an album called The Truth About Love, fans expect just that.

The album starts with “Are We All We Are?,” a catchy track co-written and produced by one of P!nk’s closest friends, successful song writer and musician, Butch Walker. The track is an anthem, perfect for a live arena performance.

The lead single “Blow Me (One Last Kiss)” is P!nk’s first release since giving birth to her daughter, Willow. Even though she is a new mom, her feisty nature hasn’t changed, as she belts out tough, fiery, and some explicit lyrics on the track. The song is catchy and full of attitude, much like the rest of the album.

Try is a slower track detailing the trials and tribulations of love. “…just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gunna die. Gotta get up and try, try, try,” P!nk explains in this memorable and powerful song.

For the track “Just Give Me a Reason,” P!nk teams up with Nate Ruess from fun. and belts out a ballad that reveals relationship angst in a realistic way. The next track is also a collaboration as P!nk works with Lily Rose Cooper (Allen) for “True Love” to explain the reality of love, having both good and bad times.

“How Come You’re Not Here” is a fun upbeat track, but can be forgettable. Nevertheless, it is still a good listen. The next track however, is everything but forgettable, as P!nk doesn’t hold anything back with her gender-equality anthem “Slut Like You.” She explains, “I’m not a slut, I just love love.”

“The Truth About Love” is the title track of the album. It features a different sound with lyrics that explain how love comes and goes and it isn’t always a fairytale. This leads into “Beam Me Up,” which shows P!nk’s softer side and showcases her stunning vocal ability as she asks “Let me be lighter, I’m tired of being a fighter.” The track is full of emotion, beautifully sang with a soft acoustic guitar.

“Walk of shame” is a fun track about the morning after a one-night stand. The lyrics are amusing and sassy, just like a signature P!nk song.

The album also features a collaboration with Eminem on the guitar-driven “Here Comes the Weekend.” This track could have been stronger, and Eminem’s part feels out of place, but it is still a fun listen. Similarly, “Where Did the Beat Go,” is lyrically strong, but isn’t the best song overall.

The album ends with the powerful ballad “The Great Escape.” P!nk manages to convey complex feelings, making the song very haunting and believable.

The bonus tracks include “My Signature Move,” “Is This Thing On,” “Run,” and “Good Old Days.” All of these tracks are at the same caliber as the rest of the album and should in no way be considered ‘throw away tracks.’ It is worth getting the deluxe edition, as it is an extension of the rest P!nk’s well constructed and must-have album.

Overall, the album showcases well-written lyrics and vocals that convey different debates that one has with one’s self or with lovers. The album is honest as P!nk, yet again, fearlessly opens up and tells it like it is. Featuring sadness, fears, rage, and happiness, this album covers a wide range of emotions and genres, definitely one of P!nk’s best albums.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads