Elizabeth Mitchell’s 'Little Seed'

By Robert Kirchgassner ,
Author Rating: 
How do your rate this item?

Elizabeth Mitchell’s album Little Seed: Songs for Children By Woody Guthrie is a delightful collection of music.

The tracks on the album are:

1. "Riding in My Car"
2. "Bling Blang"
3. "1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8"
4. "Why, Oh Why?"
5. "Sleep Eye"
6. "Who's My Pretty Baby?"
7. "Rattle My Rattle"
8. "This Land Is Your Land"
9. "Merry-Go-Round"
10. "One Day Old"
11. "Little Sugar"
12. "Grassy Grass Grass"
13. "Little Seed"

The album was released by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings in 2012 and earned a Grammy nomination for Best Children’s Album.

In this collection, Mitchell performs with her husband, Daniel Littleton, and their daughter Storey, among others.

Her rendition of the classic song "This Land is Your Land," is particularly nice. I also enjoyed "Bling Blang" and "1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8." The title track is also good, although I doubt I’ll be whistling it to myself as much as some of the other tracks here.

Like Mitchell’s other works, these are songs which are sure to make children of all ages love and appreciate music. Mitchell’s other albums include You Are My Flower, which was her first album of children’s music and was released in 1998.

Her subsequent works include You Are My Little Bird, Sunny Day and, most recently, Blue Cloud. Her record label is called Little Bird Records.



Join Our Newsletter

Popular Threads