Warner Bros. schedules nine untitled DC Comics movies, moves 'Batman v. Superman'

Had enough comic book movies? Well, you haven’t seen the last of them. Warner Bros. scheduled nine untitled DC Comics movies through 2020. In 2017, we will see eight major comic book movies from the big studios alone.

On Wednesday, Warner Bros. announced that Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice will be coming out on March 25, 2016, giving the May 6, 2016 date to Marvel/Disney’s Captain America 3.

However, that was just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to scheduling. The studio also scheduled another 2016 film for Aug. 5, 2016. From then on, there will be two movies a year through 2020.

While most studios haven’t plotted that far out, they do have 2017 solid. If nothing changes, Warner Bros.’ two films that year - scheduled for June 24, 2017 and Nov. 17, 2017 - will join six others.

As Variety points out, Marvel already has three releases set that year, which will come out in May, July and November. The November film won’t clash with DC’s project, since it is set for Nov. 3.

Fox, which still has the movie license for Marvel’s X-Men and Fantastic Four characters, has new films for both franchises set for 2017. The Wolverine is getting a sequel and next year’s The Fantastic Four is getting one as well.

Finally, Sony has a movie on a Spider-Man female superhero in development for 2017. The studio doesn’t have a set date, but that year is the target.

All this tells us is that when Hollywood gets obsessed with a genre, it gets obsessed. We’ve seen this before with Westerns and Musicals, both of which are no longer as popular as they once were. If audiences can get through this slog, maybe there will be another time where superhero movies aren’t so common.

Here are all of the DC Comics dates:
Aug. 5, 2016
June 24, 2017
Nov. 17, 2017
March 23, 2018
July 27, 2018
April 5, 2019
June 14, 2019
April 3, 2020
June 19, 2020

image courtesy of INFphoto.com

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed