Web Analytics

Nominees for Daytime Emmy Awards announced on 'The Talk'

The nominees for the 43rd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards were announced on March 24.

The nominees were announced on CBS talk show The Talk, according to E! Online. CBS led the television networks with 77 nominations but other channels were still recognized as well.

NBC afternoon favorite The Ellen DeGeneres Show got a nod for Outstanding Talk Show/Entertainment. NBC host Steve Harvey is a nominee twice  over for hosting Family Feud and his own talk show Steve Harvey. The hosts of ABC's The View and Fox's The Real also received nods for Outstanding Entertainment talk show hosts.

However, some Emmy veterans also returned to the nomination list. Judge Judy received a nomination for Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program, and Good Morning America got a nomination for Outstanding Morning Program. Longtime soap opera favorite The Young and the Restless came away with 27 nominations, including one for Outstanding Drama Series.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences also  made good on its promise to be more inclusive of online series by giving out five nominations to YouTube series including Anacostia (Outstanding Actress in a Digital Daytime Drama Series) and Vanity (Outstanding Digital Drama Series).

One development of the Emmy Awards that may not be great news is that this year, the ceremony will not air on television. The NATAS released a press release announcing the nominees and also explaining the decision not to air the awards show on television.

 “After months of negotiations to find show sponsorship, the NATAS Executive Board has decided that the current climate for awards shows prohibits the possibility of a telecast this year. With that said, we will be putting on a world-class awards celebration honoring the best and brightest of Daytime television and look forward to an exciting show. All efforts regarding returning the annual gala to television in 2017 are underway."

The 43rd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony will take place May 1.

Click here to see the rest of the nominees.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed