Chicago Cubs win World Series for the first time in over a century

For the first time since 1908, the Chicago Cubs get to take home a World Series trophy.

The Cubs beat the Cleveland Indians by one run in Game 7 of the World Series. The victory came after a heart-stopping 10-inning game that was delayed due to rain at Cleveland's Progressive Field Wednesday night.

ABC 7 noted that the Cubs were favorites to win this year's World Series and break the curse after leading the major leagues with an impressive 103-win record. Cleveland meanwhile, was also trying to break its own losing streak. The Indians haven't won a World Series since 1948.

In addition to winning the title, the Cubs also made history several times during the World Series.

  • The team was the first to come back from a 3-1 deficit since the Kansas City Royals in 1985.
  • The club ended a 108-year championship drought.
  • At 21, Javier Baez is the second-youngest player to hit a home run in a Game 7.
  • At 39, David Ross is the oldest player to hit a home run in a winner-takes-all World Series game.

"Cubs fans have never given up hope that this day was possible, and this young team made it happen," Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel said in a statement.

The Cubs also shared their joy with fans via Twitter.

Fly the W,  Chicagoans! You deserve it.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed