'Fast & Furious' franchise to receive Generation Award at MTV Movie & TV Awards

MTV announced that it will award the Fast & Furious franchise with the Generation Award at the 2017 awards ceremony. This is the first time that a movie franchise will be honored instead of an individual actor.

According to MTV's press release, Vin Diesel will accept the award alongside co-stars Michelle Rodriquez, Tyrese Gibson and Jordana Brewster. They are very excited about how their franchise has become "one of the most popular and enduring motion-picture" series of all time.

RELATED: Vin Diesel reveals release dates for ‘Fast & Furious’ 9 and 10

It was also revealed that J Balvin, Putbull and Camila Cabello will perform "Hey Ma," featured on the sound track, for the first time live.

MTV's General Manager said, "From the diverse cast of beloved actors, to the music and fashion, we are honored to present the Generation Award to a franchise that continues to entertain millions of fans across the world," said Amy Doyle.

The Generation Award was dedicated to honor individual stars on their accomplishments. Past winners have included: Will Smith, Reese Witherspoon, Robert Downey Jr., Mark Wahlberg, Sandra Bullock and many more.

To commemorate the Furious movies, MTV will host a marathon of the first three films beginning on Saturday, April 29, at 8 p.m. Viewers will also have the chance to test their luck with trivia questions about the movies, the stars and their past appearances.

Tune into MTV for the 2017 MTV Movie & TV Awards on Sunday, May 7, at 8 p.m. EST for this special honor.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply